Anniversaries & Garlic Fried Chicken


Michael and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary yesterday and like the true old people that we are, we stayed in and cleaned/painted the house. I think I read somewhere that the first anniversary = a paper gift, but neither of us even wrote a note to each other, haha (we’re pretty horrible with anniversaries these days – we’re coming up on 6 years, dating + marriage).

In other news, I have come to realize that the only time I’m really in the kitchen is to bake cookies or brownies or other unhealthy treats. I’m not much of a cook, but I really want to be! So, in an effort to become a better housewife, I will be trying all sorts of new recipes for me and Michael. If they are any good, I’ll post them here and hopefully you can put them to use too.

I found this one on allrecipes.com and it is REALLY good Fried Chicken and even Michael (who is extremely picky) liked it a lot. I cut the chicken breast into smaller pieces and used a Ziploc bag to coat the chicken really well. Next time, I’ll try to do a healthier, baked version, but for tonight, this was amazing. Enjoy!

Garlic Fried Chicken

INGREDIENTS
2 Tbsp. garlic powder, or to taste
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
4 skinless, boneless chicken halves
1 cup oil for frying, or as needed

METHOD
1. In a shallow dish, mix together the garlic powder, pepper, salt, paprika, bread crumbs and flour. In a separate dish, whisk together the milk and egg.
2. Dip chicken into the egg and milk, then dredge in the dry ingredients until evenly coated.
3. Heat oil in skillet and fry chicken for about 5 minutes, then flip and cover for 20 minutes or until cooked through. Remove chicken and serve.
Makes 4 Servings

Leave a Reply

